It can be nerve-racking if you’re the parent of a teen who’s recently become a new driver. In a state like Florida, which has the seventh highest number of miles of road of any state in the country, this fear can be especially acute. Thankfully, there’s something you can do to set your mind at ease.
You can and should insure your teen driver, as they’re statistically more likely to get in an accident than most other drivers. In the state of Florida, there are special insurance rules for teens that you should be aware of. Here’s a closer look at how to insure your teen in Florida.
Obtaining a license in Florida
When a teenager turns 15 in Florida, they are eligible to receive their learner’s permit. They’ll need to hold that permit for a year, at which point they can then apply for their intermediate license. Eventually, when they turn 18, the teenage driver will be able to apply for their Class E license.
Insurance requirements and options
To receive their intermediate license, a teenage driver must be insured. Parents can do this in one of two ways. The first, most common and most cost-effective way is to simply add your teen driver to your own existing auto insurance policy. A perk of choosing this option is that your child can remain on your policy for as long as they continue to live with you at the same address, regardless of their age.
The second way of insuring a teen driver in Florida is by purchasing a separate policy specifically for them. This option would offer you more coverage at a higher premium.
Some more specific Florida laws require Florida drivers to have $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance, in addition to $10,000 of property damage liability insurance.
Why it’s important to have you and your teen driver properly insured
Driving without insurance in the state of Florida is illegal and can lead to fines, suspensions and other penalties. It also opens the door to litigation and being forced to pay the full costs of damages if you or your teen were to cause an accident.
Additionally, if you’re the parent of a teen driver who causes an accident, if they aren’t yet 18 years old, they’re not an adult in the eyes of the law. This means that they’re still under your guardianship, and you can be held responsible for any damages or lawsuits filed against them.
Hopefully you’re already aware of this, but you were likely required to sign a form when your teenage driver was applying for their permit essentially agreeing to the above: that you’d handle the fiscal consequences if anything should happen with your teen driver. However, if they are properly insured, you won’t have to stress or worry about any of that, as your insurance company will take care of it.
Call to insure your Florida teen driver today
Now that you know how to insure your teen driver in Florida, as well as some policies regarding Florida insurance for teens, give Affordable Car Insurance Tampa a call. We understand the unique challenges that a teenage driver can present in the state of Florida, and we’d be happy to help you and your family navigate this exciting step.