In some states throughout the United States, there is a curfew for teenage drivers. The curfew may restrict what times a teenage driver cannot drive past, regulate where a teenage driver can or cannot drive to, or restrict how many passengers, if any, a teenage driver can have in their vehicle past a certain time. The rules and laws pertaining to teenage drivers vary from state to state, so if you have a teenage driver, it is important that you learn the rules that pertain to curfew for teenage drivers in your state. If your teenage driver resides in Florida, here are the rules that you need to know about curfew for teenage drivers in Florida.
Does Florida Have a Curfew for Teenage Drivers?
Florida is a state that has a curfew for teenage drivers. The curfew laws vary in the state of Florida based on whether the teenage driver has a learning permit or whether they have a driver’s license. The laws also vary based on the age of the driver. Keep reading to learn the specific laws about Florida, curfew, and teenage drivers.
What is the Curfew for Teenage Drivers in Florida with a Learning Permit?
In the state of Florida, teens who are 15 years or older are allowed to obtain a learning permit, also referred to as a learner’s license. Regardless of the age of the driver, drivers who have a learner’s license can only drive during daylight hours for the first three months after the permit is given. After the initial three-month period, teenagers with a learner’s license can only drive until 10 at night. They are not allowed to drive from 10 at night until the sun rises. Additionally, those with a learner’s license or driver’s permit must always have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age with them at all times when they are driving, regardless of their age or what time of day or night it is.
What is the Curfew for Teenage Drivers in Florida with a License?
In the state of Florida, curfew laws vary based on whether a driver is 16 years of age or 17 years of age. A teenage driver who has a valid driver’s license is not allowed to drive between the hours of 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. if they are 16 years old. If the teenage driver is 17 years of age, they are not allowed to drive between the hours of 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. The state of Florida does have an exception to the curfew rule though. If a teenage driver is driving to or from work, they are allowed to drive outside of the curfew hours. Additionally, if a licensed driver over the age of 21 years old is with them, they are allowed to drive outside of curfew hours. Unlike other states, Florida does not allow a teenage driver to drive outside of curfew for school events, including school dances, such as prom or homecoming.
Why Is There a Curfew for Teenage Drivers in Florida?
A curfew is designed to help keep teenage drivers safe. Studies have shown that teenagers are more likely to be involved in serious or fatal accidents if they are driving late at night. In fact, since the law was implemented, there have been fewer fatal accidents involving teenage drivers.
What Happens If You Do Not Abide by the Curfew for Teenage Drivers?
If you fail to abide by the curfew for teenage drivers, two things can happen. First, you can be cited, which causes you to face a financial penalty. Additionally, you will have to face a judge, and a judge has the ability to suspend your license if you are not abiding by curfew laws in the state of Florida.
If you have a teenage driver, it is important that they understand and abide by curfew laws in the state of Florida. Additionally, it is important to ensure that your teenage driver has the insurance policy they need to protect themselves if they are involved in an accident. Here at Affordable Car Insurance Tampa, we can help find you and your teen the right driving policy for your needs. Contact us today to learn more.